Music Alliance Pact - global blog mixtape

We're featured in July 2011's Music Alliance Pact, as part of the Singapore contribution, thanks to the I'm Waking Up To... music blog. Previous Singapore bands have included the wonderful Monster Cat and Humming Kitten (some affinity for feline names there!). So our track A Universe Made Of Strings is available for download from more than 32 blogs around the world, including UK's The Guardian among many other very cool blogs.


Oh, and we've just posted new photos from the Amaranthine Voyage, taken by the one and only Aloysius Lim. Like the one below. You can almost hear it go boom.


- Daniel


Revisiting some good times

Hanging out with the earliest iteration of IEHAC over a couple whiskies at Quaich Bar. Kenny, Farid, Daniel, Roland. It's like 2008 all over again! You guys are awesome. Pirates for life!

- Daniel


Talking Heads

It's pretty bizarre to see yourself on TV when you're at home on a Sunday night cooking dinner for your friends.

Anyway that was from an interview we did with Channel NewsAsia which aired that night on both Channel 5's News and CNA. I was kind of caught unawares in the kitchen adding the final touches to a saffron crab pasta when the friends started excitedly saying I was on the trailer. Popped out and it was over, so I thought it was a prank or something...but anyway, they were ready and prepped to take goofy photos when it aired on the news later that night.

The CNA video segment is here - I can't seem to embed it here for some reason (is it the code or is it me? Probably me).

- Daniel 


The Amaranthine Voyage

So the big day's finally over. We sold out the show in the afternoon, which was a bit of a shocker for us, but we can't deny we were totally buzzed about that. Carrying all the props and setting up in the venue was backbreaking, but we had the help of the very good crew and production team from the Esplanade as well as the help of some very kind friends in our crew who helped us with the tech stuff - Goose, Marlon Ingle, Martin Kong, Bryo, Julian (at 15, he's by far the youngest of our crew!) and of course the irreplaceable Leonard Soosay on the mixing board (yes, he also gets credit for most of these photos in here) - and plenty of the art direction in terms of where these props were to be placed).  


Our groovy little merch table was helmed by Ms Wu aka Lesley from KittyWu Records.

Live generative visuals for the night were provided by the very talented Bin and Ivan from the PMP crew. Hypnotising and the interaction with the music was a really nice touch - it's the first time we've ever used visuals live. It definitely enhances the overall vibe.

So there you have it. Thanks to everyone in Esplanade's and our fabulous crew of ragamuffins who toiled really hard that Friday, 24 June 2011, and of course those of you who were there at the show that evening (and sure, even those of you who were there in spirit too!) to make it a really memorable and unforgettable one for us. We hope you enjoyed it and we are very grateful to you for hitching a ride with us on our maiden voyage.

We're posting links to reviews of the show and our album as they come in, via our Press Room page. 

This is just the first leg of the journey, and plenty of fresh adventures await. Till then.


- Daniel 


...and finally, the album.


It's been a crazy 6 months, and it's all culminating tonight when we play our show at the Esplanade. We collected our CDs yesterday and they look wicked. No more it's the real thing. There are a million things to do before showtime and we're going to document them and share them with you. 

CDs will be available at the Esplanade store, as well as BooksActually; and we should have our Merch page on this site up soon so you can buy it (and t-shirts!) directly from us. Watch this space.

- Daniel